Hits and Misses (Oct 4-10, 2020)

Here’s a look back at the week that was….

HITS

  • This week included really good piano lessons for almost all of my students. It is so rewarding to see young pianists making progress and continuing to enjoy the craft. It reminds me why I love my job — even in challenging times.
  • This week also saw my return to the praise team at College Heights. I haven’t played for a church service since the beginning of the pandemic and wasn’t completely convinced that I would ever return. Thursday evening was an enjoyable time, working with friends and students as we prepared our hearts, voices, and hands to lead the congregation in worship.
  • Donut night returned! It was small. It was quiet, socially distanced, and safe. But it was also very fun! I think that those of us who got to participate can say that it was just what we needed.
  • Seeing someone else succeed can be so fulfilling! This week, one of my former students faced a portion of a barrier exam that has plagued him for a few semesters. He was nervous. He was intimated by me. (Still haven’t figured that part out, but I’ll take him at his word.) He rose to the occasion and got the job done. Now, there’s just one aspect of the exam remaining and I have a pretty good feeling about this one!

MISSES

  • Technical difficulties plagued my world this week. The chapel live-stream would not work, so I had to figure something out for my small group on the fly. The battery on my iPad was draining very rapidly after the latest update. “Technical support” is becoming an oxymoron in my personal vocabulary.
  • More and more students are beginning to experience illness. We just have to survive a few more weeks in order to put this semester in the rear-view mirror….and it can’t come soon enough!

Leave a comment